Map of George Washington's Five Farms Canvas Print

Save 20%
SKU 23996

The Mount Vernon estate, which totaled nearly 8,000 acres at its completion, was divided into five farms named Mansion, River, Muddy Hole, Dogue, and Union. Although four of the farms were the focus of intensive agricultural activity, the 500 acres directly around the mansion were developed as a gentleman's country seat; a new world version of an English country house of the period, located within a deep border of woods with rolling meadows, vistas, and groves of trees. Between the mansion and the river shore was an extensive park and below the kitchen garden was an enclosed vineyard. Small areas were cultivated but these were usually restricted to testing new crop and agricultural methods.

The flat canvas print of the 18th century map of George Washington's Five Farms is 10" x 12" overall; picture measures 6" x 8".